Germany Players To Get €400,000 If They Win FIFA World Cup 2022

When Qatar hosts the FIFA World Cup in 2022, much money will be at stake. The tournament begins on November 20, with Germany against Japan on November 23.

Success on the field has real advantages, even though most teams will focus on winning the coveted trophy and making their countries proud. FIFA hasn’t held back in recent years regarding World Cup prize money, and 2022 is no exception – there are enormous sums up for grabs.

Germany Players To Get €400,000

Germany Players To Get €400,000 If They Win FIFA World Cup 2022
Pic Credit:

If the German team wins the 2022 FIFA World Cup, which will be staged in Qatar later this year, the players will each receive 400,000 euros ($390,000). The German Football Association (DFB) made the judgment public on Sunday.

The FIFA World Cup 2022, which will begin in Qatar in November, has been widely anticipated by people all around the world. The Olympic Games are regarded as the biggest sporting festival in the world since they include various sporting events.

On November 20, the opening match of the FIFA World Cup 2022 will occur between Qatar and Ecuador. Before Qatar’s first game on November 21, the opening ceremony was scheduled. But due to time constraints, the program was altered after lengthy deliberation.

Germany, a four-time world champion, will have a greater incentive to succeed in Qatar because of the possibility of receiving large incentives.

However, the German Football Association (DFB) has provided the team additional motivation to have a successful World Cup campaign with several performance-related bonuses. 

World Cup 2022 Prize Money

If Germany can advance from Group E and into the Round of 16, each player will be given a bonus payment of 50,000 euros. The bonuses are in addition to the predetermined match fee each participant will be paid to participate.

In Qatar, each player will receive 50,000 euros for making it out of the group stage and 100,000 euros for making it to the final eight. Each semifinal slot is worth 150,000 euros, while Germany’s competitors would receive 200,000 euros each for finishing third. 

A 250,000 euro bonus would be awarded for losing in the championship game. The prize money for winning the tournament had increased from the previous year’s event, when Germany was eliminated in the first round, to 350,000 euros. 

Previous World Cup’s Prize Money

In 2014, after Germany won the World Cup in Brazil, the players got bonuses of 300,000 euros each.

The prize money for winning the event had increased from 350,000 euros in 2018 when Germany was eliminated in the first round. That was $5 million more than Spain collected before the 2014’s World Cup when they won it all in South Africa. 

Even the last-place nation undoubtedly walked away with at least $8 million that summer, so there was plenty of prize money to go around. 

Germany Players To Get €400,000 If They Win FIFA World Cup 2022
Pic Credit:

The $576 million fund, which includes insurance plans to replace the club salaries due to injured players, was divided among the 32 participating countries. The winner received about 10% of the $358 million prize pool, which was the actual amount.

The World Cup prize money keeps rising as it becomes increasingly popular every four years. France received 38 million dollars after winning the championship game, while Croatia, who finished in second place, received 28 million dollars. 

Remaining Teams Prize Money Distribution

While the remaining teams were grouped according to ranks for further prize money distribution, the third and fourth place teams received 24 million dollars and 22 million dollars, correspondingly.

Teams in positions five through eight received 16 million dollars, while teams in positions nine through sixteen received 12 million dollars. The 16 teams who were eliminated from the group stage each received $8 million.

Aside from the enormous prize money, the World Cup trophy is valued at over 20 million dollars.

Despite being a large figure, FIFA’s revenue budget for 2022 is $4.6 billion, with broadcasting rights expected to bring in $2.6 billion on their own.

Germany Players To Get €400,000 If They Win FIFA World Cup 2022
Pic Credit:

FIFA said the Qatar World Cup champions would receive a $42 million prize in April 2023. 

The prize money for winners has increased by $4 million since 2018 and has been on an upward trend for the past 40 years.  Before 2006, World Cup champions never took home more than $10 million, with Italy’s victory in 1982 earning them “just” an estimated $2.2 million. 

National teams made a strong case for FIFA to enhance prize money in 2002, and rising World Cup revenue ensured that winning teams received such earnings.

According to the FIFA prize money breakdown, teams that advance to the semifinals in Qatar will receive more money than the 2006 World Cup winners.

Read More